Education team

We’re committed to making inspiring, high-quality science education available to all young people.

Together with our partners, we:

  • support schools and educators to deliver engaging science lessons and experiences
  • fund research to inform and improve science education
  • advocate for policy change.

Team contacts 

Nan Davies

Education and Learning Lead

nan.davies@wellcome.org

+44 (0)20 7611 8406

Ruth Birse

PA

Contact about: general queries.

r.birse@wellcome.org

+44 (0)20 7611 7221

Ruba Aljarf

Professional Development Project Officer

Contact about: teachers' professional development.

r.aljarf@wellcome.org

+44 (0)20 7611 7242

Danielle Barnetche

Product Manager, Explorify

Contact about: Explorify(opens in a new tab).

d.barnetche@wellcome.org

+44 (0)20 7611 8527

Thomas Barton

Primary Science Project Manager

Contact about: primary science, science subject leadership.

t.barton@wellcome.org

+44 (0)20 7611 5764

Ally Branley

Content, Social Media and Email Manager, Explorify

Contact about: Explorify(opens in a new tab).

a.branley@wellcome.org

+44 (0)20 7611 8503

Mark Ellis

Policy Advisor, Education and Skills

Contact about: school governors and trustees, further education, employability, apprenticeships, T Levels, general education policy issues.

m.ellis@wellcome.org

+44 (0)20 7611 8285

Lily Ickowitz-Seidler

Project Manager, Education Research

Contact about:

young people’s views on science education, education research.

l.ickowitz-seidler@wellcome.org

+44 (0)20 7611 8514

Louise Stubberfield

Primary Programme Lead

Contact about: primary science, National STEM Learning Centre, Camden Primary Science Network.

l.stubberfield@wellcome.org

+44 (0)20 7611 8297

Asimina Vergou

Research Programme Lead (maternity cover)

Contact about: education and neuroscienceeducation research, teacher research.

a.vergou@wellcome.org

+44 (0)20 7611 7395

Our work 

Teacher expertise

All teachers and technicians should have regular, high-quality continuing professional development throughout their career so that they can improve student learning.

Primary science

We’re working to transform the teaching of science in primary schools so that every pupil has an excellent first experience of science.

Informal science learning

Informal learning experiences – like visiting museums, meeting scientists, watching YouTube videos and playing games – offer huge potential for young people to engage with and learn about science in a way that works for them.

Practical science

We’re committed to supporting and improving practical science in schools and colleges.

Reports 

Involving young people in health research

[Summary] This study explores the role, benefits and potential of young people’s involvement in health research, with a focus on mental health, infectious diseases and global heating.

Science Education Tracker 2019

[Summary] More than 6,400 young people across England have taken part in our survey into attitudes towards and experiences of science education and careers.  

News