Education team

We’re committed to making inspiring, high-quality science education available to all young people.

Together with our partners, we:

  • support schools and educators to deliver engaging science lessons and experiences
  • fund research to inform and improve science education
  • advocate for policy change.

Team contacts 

Anita Krishnamurthi

Head of Education and Learning

a.krishnamurthi@wellcome.org

+44 (0)20 7611 8843

Ruth Birse

PA to Anita Krishnamurthi

Contact about: general queries.

r.birse@wellcome.org

_44 (0)20 7611 7221

Ruba Aljarf

Professional Development Project Officer

Contact about: teachers' professional development.

r.aljarf@wellcome.org

+44 (0)20 7611 7242

Thomas Barton

Primary Science Project Manager

Contact about: primary science, science subject leadership.

t.barton@wellcome.org

+44 (0)20 7611 5764

Ally Branley

Content, Social Media and Email Manager, Explorify

Contact about: Explorify(opens in a new tab)(opens in a new tab).

a.branley@wellcome.org

+44 (0)20 7611 8503

Lauren Crawford

Programme and Funding Partnerships Officer

Contact about: informal science learningworking with the youth sector, Curiosity.

l.crawford@wellcome.org

+44 (0)20 7611 2038

Nan Davies

Professional Development Programme Lead

Contact about: teachers' professional development.

nan.davies@wellcome.org

+44 (0)20 7611 8406

Mark Ellis

Policy Advisor, Education and Skills

Contact about: school governors and trustees, further education, employability, apprenticeships, T Levels, general education policy issues.

m.ellis@wellcome.org

+44 (0)20 7611 8285

Lily Ickowitz-Seidler

Project Manager, Education Research

Contact about:

young people’s views on science education, education research.

l.ickowitz-seidler@wellcome.org

+44 (0)20 7611 8514

Louise Stubberfield

Primary Programme Lead

Contact about: primary science, National STEM Learning Centre, Camden Primary Science Network.

l.stubberfield@wellcome.org

+44 (0)20 7611 8297

Asimina Vergou

Research Programme Lead (maternity cover)

Contact about: education and neuroscienceeducation research, teacher research.

a.vergou@wellcome.org

+44 (0)20 7611 7395

Our work 

Teacher expertise

All teachers and technicians should have regular, high-quality continuing professional development throughout their career so that they can improve student learning.

Primary science

We’re working to transform the teaching of science in primary schools so that every pupil has an excellent first experience of science.

Informal science learning

Informal learning experiences – like visiting museums, meeting scientists, watching YouTube videos and playing games – offer huge potential for young people to engage with and learn about science in a way that works for them.

Practical science

We’re committed to supporting and improving practical science in schools and colleges.

Reports 

Briefings and responses 

News