Molecular Basis of Cell Function Expert Review Group

Its remit includes:

  • the fundamentals of gene expression (alternative splicing, imprinting, methylation, transcription, translation, DNA repair and DNA replication)
  • chromosome structure/biology and the fundamental biology of mitosis and meiosis
  • biochemistry
  • chemistry and chemical biology
  • biophysics
  • structural biology
  • proteomics
  • bioinformatics
  • mathematical modelling
  • nanotechnology.


Professor Helen Walden (Chair)

University of Glasgow

Professor Imre Berger

University of Bristol

Dr Chun-wa Chung


Professor Ulrike Eggert

King’s College London

Professor Nick Gilbert

University of Edinburgh

Professor Andrew McAinsh

University of Warwick

Professor Joanna Morris

University of Birmingham

Dr Matthew Neale

University of Sussex

Professor Ewa Paluch

University of Cambridge

Professor Ana Pombo

Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine

Professor Stefan Raunser

Max Planck Institute of Molecular Physiology, Germany

Professor Anne Willis

University of Cambridge

Professor Nikolay Zenkin

University of Newcastle


Emma Ralph

Senior Grants Adviser, Infection and Immunobiology

Wellcome Trust


We expect members to comply with our Conflict of Interest Policy [PDF 137KB].