Brain and Behavioural Sciences Early-Career Advisory Group

This advisory group shortlists candidates for Wellcome Early-Career Awards.

Its remit covers applications that aim to advance our understanding of the structure and function of the nervous system at all levels – from the molecular to the cognitive – across the lifespan.

Examples include:

  • experimental, theoretical and computational studies
  • investigations in humans and model systems, targeting basic cellular, molecular and systems-related questions
  • mechanisms of psychiatric and neurological diseases and how therapeutic interventions work
  • impact of genetic, environmental and social factors on cellular, molecular, behavioural and cognitive phenotypes.


Members are listed below. Additional experts will join the panel as necessary.

Professor Matt Jones (Chair)

University of Bristol

Professor Stella Chan

University of Reading

Dr Marta Correia

MRC Cognition and Brain Sciences Unit

University of Cambridge

Dr Matthew Davis

MRC Cognition and Brain Sciences Unit

University of Cambridge

Dr Aidan Horner

University of York

Professor Denis Jabaudon

University of Geneva, Switzerland

Professor Gáspár Jékely

University of Exeter

Professor Andrew Lotery

University of Southampton

Dr Manuel Mameli

University of Lausanne, Switzerland

Professor Lars Muckli

University of Glasgow

Dr Emily Osterweil

University of Edinburgh

Dr Anne Urai

Leiden University, Netherlands

Dr Ines Violante

University of Surrey

Dr Laura Andreae

King's College London


Tyler Jackling

Funding Manager

Wellcome Trust