Brain and Behavioural Sciences Discovery Advisory Group

This advisory group shortlists candidates for Wellcome Career Development Awards and Wellcome Discovery Awards.

Its remit covers applications that aim to advance our understanding of the structure and function of the nervous system at all levels – from the molecular to the cognitive – across the lifespan.

Examples include:

  • experimental, theoretical and computational studies
  • investigations in humans and model systems, targeting basic cellular, molecular and systems-related questions
  • mechanisms of psychiatric and neurological diseases and how therapeutic interventions work
  • impact of genetic, environmental and social factors on cellular, molecular, behavioural and cognitive phenotypes.


Members are listed below. Additional experts will join the panel as necessary.

Professor P Robin Hiesinger (Chair)

Freie Universitat Berlin

Professor Nikolai Axmacher

Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany

Professor Camilla Bellone

University of Geneva, Switzerland

Professor Siddharthan Chandran

University of Edinburgh

Professor Floris de Lange

Radboud University Nijmegen, Netherlands

Professor Britta Eickholt

Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Germany

Professor Birte Forstmann

University of Amsterdam, Netherlands

Professor Sonia Gandhi

University College London

Professor Ilona Grunwald Kadow

Technical University of Munich, Germany

Dr Dwight Kravitz

George Washington University, USA

Professor Anne Lingford-Hughes

Imperial College London

Professor Matthew Nolan

University of Edinburgh

Dr Joseph Raimondo

University of Cape Town, South Africa

Professor Emma Robinson

University of Bristol

Dr Alexandra Woolgar

University of Cambridge


Katherine Moynihan

Funding Manager

Wellcome Trust