Population and Public Health Early-Career Advisory Group

This advisory group shortlists candidates for Wellcome Early-Career Awards.

Its remit covers applications that aim to understand the causes and consequences of health, wellbeing and disease in populations. It includes a range of disciplines such as (but not limited to) epidemiology, social science, health economics and data science.

Examples include:

  • research employing a variety of study designs, including cross-sectional and longitudinal data collection and analysis
  • methodological developments in population health, including data linkage, statistical methods and conceptual frameworks
  • research to inform health systems and health policy.


Members are listed below. Additional experts will join the panel as necessary.

Dr Claire Steves (Chair)

King's College London

Dr Melanie Abas

King's College London

Professor Alash'le Abimiku

University of Maryland, USA

Professor Peymane Adab

University of Birmingham

Dr Ambrose Agweyu

KEMRI-Wellcome Trust Research Programme, Kenya

Professor Olakunle Alonge

Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, USA

Dr Thomas Churcher

Imperial College London

Dr Aiden Doherty

University of Oxford

Professor Ruth Dundas

University of Glasgow

Professor Meena Kumari

University of Essex

Dr Rodrigo Moreno-Serra

University of York

Professor Joseph Murray

Universidade Federal De Pelotas, Brazil

Professor Pablo Perel

London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine

Professor Inge Petersen

University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa

Dr Sandra Telfer

University of Aberdeen


Hannah Partridge

Funding Manager

Wellcome Trust